Finding the Right Look

Being a firm believer in the philosophy, Striving for Imprefection (sic), I think a great deal of what holds us back is waiting to do things perfectly instead of doing something, anything NOW. If we can’t find the perfect logo, we can’t move forward. If we can’t create the perfect website, why have an internet presence at all? You know how it is.

However, perception is reality, especially in marketing. So, the look does matter.

Depending on when you’re reading this entry, you’re either seeing how the website is supposed to look, or not. I know, I know, that sounds really “zen,” doesn’t it? But my new “web guy” is building this while I’m still writing entries so I send him an entry. He posts it somewhere, gives me a URL to check. I examine it. We exchange ideas. He changes it. I send an entry. Repeat cycle.

The key is to realize that this is a growth process. I don’t think I’ll ever “be there” but I have to keep moving forward.

Evolution of the site

Originally, I had planned on this site simply being a blog. I’d update it often and allow readers (um, that’s you) to make your comments. Post ideas. Ask questions. I looked at it as an evolving resource that would provide you with a lot of information when it comes to marketing and would document my travels to 1,000 subscribers for Two Words. Getting a blog set up is relatively easy — and for the most part, it’s free (Blogger LiveJournal, Vox, and WordPress provide free templates). I did want some sort of graphic on the top of the blog and although I could do it myself, I decided to hire someone who could do it quicker and better. To do that, I decided to try my first posting on Craig’s List.

Craig’s List – far and wide

Big surprise! Although I posted on my local Craig’s list, I was inundated from people all over the U.S. as well as in India and the Philippines! I had such a response that I finally had to delete the ad.

One of the respondents pitched me on turning this site into exactly what it is right now. Instead of doing a blog, he convinced me that I could cutomize it far better by using a CMS (which I think is “content management system) called Joomla. In his opinion, combined with an “internet artist” as he referred to himself, we could really make http://www.LongDistanceMarketing.com a showcase.

I like his energy and his enthusiasm and paid him on the spot. Time will tell if I’m correct.

~ by scottqmarcus on November 2, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
