Hiring the magazine designer

The bottom line of this whole project is still the magazine, Two Words. For the last few days, I fear I have become sidetracked on making this project bigger than it need be at its onset. I forgot my own advice, “Strive for Imprefection.” Because I have become too involved in making it big, I have not done anything. Wrong. Wrong. Wrong. Gotta get back on track.

What’s been done so far

The most important part of this project is to document the development and marketing of my magazine. Therefore, I cannot forget that.

As I mentioned in a recent post, I listed an ad on Craigs List and was inundated with responses. That was intimidating. So, what I then did was to decide what’s most important to me in the person I choose. I came up with these parameters:

  1. I can work with the person
  2. S/he understands the vision I have
  3. S/he has the skills and talent I need at a price I can afford
  4. All things being equal, I prefer someone local

With those as my goals, I set about dividing all the replies into two categories:

  • Magazine designer (local)
  • Magazine designer (out of area)

Protecting myself — and beginning the weeding out process

I wrote a document outlining everything I want from a perspective designer and converted it into a .pdf file. Then, I sent out an email to each of the designers telling them that I want to make sure my ideas are protected, they needed to respond to this email. Replying to the email meant they accepted my terms. (Here is the text of that email.) I also set up a “rule” in Entourage so that if someone replied to my email it automatically responded with a link where they could download the pdf outlining the project and explaining the details of the magazine. I tried to include as much as I could (including deadines) in that outline and I even included other links and ideas.

Out of about 15 different people who sent me an email expressing interest in being on my project, six replied and received the automated reply.  Of those, four have followed up with at least some level of detail. Two have not.

To be fair, I sent a follow up email to each of those two and asked if they needed any more information. As of today, no reply. (One of those two was my favorite but I think I might need to “let go” of that as — per rule #1 — it must be someone with whom I can work well.)

Determining the correct person

My next step is to interview the person and see what kind of fit we have. I have only spoken with one person so far and that’s because she took the initiative to pick up the phone and call me (a good sign). The problem is what do I need to know?

So, here’s what I’m thinking about asking:

  1. What do you envision for the magazine?
  2. Would you be willing to do a rough spec so I can get a better idea of your vision?
  3. Should I hire you, how would we work together?
  4. What would you need of me?
  5. What should I expect of you?
  6. How much will this cost me – and what will I get in return?
  7. What am I not asking you that I should be asking?
  8. What do you want to know about me?

I don’t know if it’s “kosher” to ask for a spec but I guess if they don’t want to, they won’t have to, huh?

~ by scottqmarcus on November 6, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
