Moving Forward on Two Words Magazine

I know, I know; this isn’t exciting to you but it is to me!

Over the last few days, I have:

  • Talked to Michele (my designer at Six Rivers Graphic Design) to put together more details on the look of my magazine. She’s a sweetheart because I know my instructions to her have got to be flaky.

“I want something spiritual, uplifting, and motivational that’s a combination of what you already put together. But maybe more blue or gray.” I say

“Hmmm, can you tell me more?” she says

“Uh, no, not really.”

“OK, I think I can work with that.”

  • Finally got the banner (which you can see above) done by Alan Hettinger at Raeliano Graphix. I wanted to use a flash graphic but WordPress (where this is hosted) doesn’t allow that in a banner so he made an animated gif that was like 90 layers!!! Is this guy great or what? Anyway, that’s made it so big, I was concerned that its download speed would be too slow so he thinned it out for me. Pretty cool, huh?
  • Send out invitations to my family to be the premier set of writers. It seems appropriate that since the first issue is “We Are,” my family — who I might point out are brilliant writers — should be involved.
  • Send out replies to others interested in writing and who responded to an unrelated email I sent out that teased the concept
  • Learned far more than I ever wanted to know about Content Management Systems. Yick! But I need to know it to discuss intelligently with the web guy when I get back in town in a week or so
  • Fixed a weird category thing in the blog so that you can find one entire thread on everything about the magazine simply by using the Two Words Timeline category link.

We’re moving! If you’re interested, get in touch.

~ by scottqmarcus on December 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
