Magazine Design: How to explain a concept?

Michele and I have had a lot of correspondence about my magazine design. Finally, I decided that in order to clarify things, I would send her several images that seemed to appeal to me as to how I think the magazine would look.

How does one explain an image?

I went to iStockPhoto.com and Fotolia.com. These are two of the sites I use to get clip art. (Fotolia is a little less expensive but both are good.) I searched around and found a bunch of images that I could see myself buying and downloaded “comps” to send to her.  (Of course, if they go in the magazine, I would be paying for them.)  Below are some of those images:

After that, I used FontBook on my Macintosh and found a bunch of fonts that I thought would work well  in the magazine. I sent those to her also  Below are some of those fonts images:

Then, I waited a week (she was doing the “holiday” thing) and I got back this:

Two Words Magazine Mock Up

Two Words Magazine Mock Up

— and I’m very happy with it. It will take some minor alterations, but overall, we’re moving forward.  (I also received three columns so far, but more about that later.)

~ by scottqmarcus on January 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
